Page MenuHomePhabricator

"Autoclose: Disabled" could provide a stronger hint that it means "You, the user, have disabled Autoclose by adjusting a setting."
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

steps to reproduce:

  • go to repo > manage > branches on a newly created git repository which has commits to 1 branch (master)
  • Edit Branches
    • Default branch: "master"
    • Track only: leave empty
    • Autoclose only: "master,release/*" (actually initially put a newline instead of a comma, ends up being the same thing)
  • Save changes

expect to see:

Default Branch master
Track Only Track All Branches
Autoclose Only master, release/*

actual:

Default Branch master
Track Only Track All Branches
Autoclose Only Disabled

version info:

phabricator f0bf0419f12ad56e5f1e122543ff27be4e048a92 (Fri, Dec 2)
arcanist fad85844314b151994769a461825c90f7400c145 (Oct 22 2016)
phutil 213c7339ccd3e6ee0678b39e2354182f36eae23b (Fri, Dec 2)

other notes:

  • the UI accurately reflects these settings on a different, existing, repo. but it wouldn't reflect them being set on this one even after multiple attempts.

Event Timeline

allixsenos updated the task description. (Show Details)

I can't immediately reproduce this.

Can you go to "Actions" in the left nav and tell me what "Autoclose" is set to?

ah. yes. I turned those off.

Publish/Notify Off
Autoclose Off

it makes a bit more sense now, though having a UI that looks like it represents a single setting not reflect a change to that single setting without any other cues is still confusing

I'd demote this from "broken" to "bad UX"

How did you disable this option in a newly created Git repository without realizing you had made the change?

it's a "fresh" repo, created yesterday, with no commits. I immediately
disabled those upon creation and then circled back the next day considering
it "completely new"

my bad on misrepresenting this, it's been a stressful rewrite project on an
8GB repo :D

epriestley renamed this task from changing autoclose setting on a repo does not reflect in UI to "Autoclose: Disabled" could provide a stronger hint that it means "You, the user, have disabled Autoclose by adjusting a setting.".Dec 29 2016, 5:51 PM
epriestley triaged this task as Wishlist priority.
epriestley edited projects, added Diffusion; removed Bug Report.

I think "Autoclose" is likely getting updates in connection with T12010 anyway, so work there may obsolete this.

chad moved this task from Backlog to UI Refresh on the Diffusion board.Jun 7 2017, 2:59 AM